About Lexus
  • Corporate Information
    • Lexus Covenant
    • Philanthropy
    • Manufacturing
    • Environment & Technology
    • Investor Relations
  • Press Releases
  • Owner Benefits
  • Sponsored Athletes
  • Lexus International
  • About This Site
  • Sign Up for News
Jason Day

Jason Day

Jason Day, an Australian born golfer, got his start from his dad, who died when Day was only 12. He attended the Hills golf academy in Australia where he trained under his current coach, Colin Swatton.

Day turned professional in July 2006 after winning the Green Jacket at the NEC Master of the Amateurs, and immediately began playing PGA TOUR events, principally through sponsors’ exemptions. He earned conditional status on the Web.com Tour for 2007.

Day won his first Web.com Tour event in July 2007 at the Legend Financial Group Classic, becoming the youngest man to win on any of the PGA TOUR’s three tours. He ended up finishing 5th on the money list to earn his PGA TOUR card for 2008. In 2009 Day finished second at the Puerto Rico Open and ended the year 69th on the money list.

In May 2010, he became the youngest Australian to win a PGA TOUR event, winning the HP Byron Nelson Championship. Day ended the 2010 season ranked 21st on the PGA TOUR money list.

In 2011 Day had ten top-10 finishes, including two second place finishes at the Masters and the U.S. Open. He finished the season No. 12 in the FedExCup standings and No. 8 in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Day had another runner-up finish at the U.S. Open in 2013 and ended the season with seven top-10 finishes and 21 made cuts in as many starts. He played overseas in the fall and days before playing in the ISPS Handa World Cup, he learned that eight of his relatives died in Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines. Despite the sadness, he elected to play and finished at 10-under to earn a two-shot win in the individual competition. His win brought him No. 11 in the Official World Rankings.

Fast Facts
2010 HP Byron Nelson Championship
2013 2013 ISPS Handa World Cup
2011 Presidents Cup
2013 Presidents Cup